If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Pokemon Sword and Shield Nintendo Direct coming next week

Nintendo is hosting a special Direct featuring Pokemon Sword and Pokemon Shield on Wednesday, June 5.

The Direct will run for 15 minutes, and focus entirely on Pokemon Sword and Shield. It'll kick off at 6am PT, 9am ET, 2pm BST.

Pokemon Sword and Shield is, of course, the first proper, next-gen Pokemon game on Switch. Unlike last year's Let's Go Pikachu and Eevee, Nintendo has been referring to Sword and Shield as a "core RPG."

Pokemon Sword and Shield is due out later this year, and it's interesting Nintendo decided to dedicate a full livestream to the game ahead of its E3 2019 Direct. Nintendo didn't namedrop Sword and Shield when revealing this year's "entirely software-focused" E3 plan, so it's possible the game may not have a large presence at the show.

We'll likely find out a lot more next week. As always, Nintendo Directs can be watched live on the publisher's YouTube and Twitch channels, and we've embedded both below.

Watch live video from Nintendo on www.twitch.tv

Until then, here's everything we know about Pokemon Sword and Shield.

About the Author

Sherif Saed avatar

Sherif Saed

Staff Writer

Whether it's news, reviews, or interviews - Sherif is always eager to tell you about video games. He plays shooters more than a sane person should, and occasionally has the skills to show for it.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information

Comments

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch