If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

New Ghost Recon reveal happening this week

Ubisoft has officially confirmed it'll be revealing a new Ghost Recon this week.

After a two-part teaser popped into Ghost Recon Wildlands, which strongly suggested a reveal of some kind on May 9, Ubisoft has now gone ahead and clarified that it is in fact Ghost Recon related.

The reveal page does indeed carry the name of the Skell Technology company, which first appeared in the teasers. It's not clear if this plays a big part in the new game or if it's just part of some in-world branding.

In any case, a livestream will be held on Thursday, May 9 at 11:30am PT, 2:30pm ET, 7:30pm BST. You'll be able to follow along on Twitch, and YouTube, and we've embedded both channels below:

Watch live video from GhostRecon on www.twitch.tv

It's strongly suggested that we're looking at a new Ghost Recon game, and not an update or expansion to Wildlands. This makes more sense, given that Wildlands is over two years-old now.

Ubisoft typically follows a rigid, predictable release schedule. If we assume the rumoured Watch Dogs 3 is the publisher's big game this fall, then that means the next Ghost Recon is its first major release in Q1 2020, i.e., around March. At that point, Wildlands would be three years-old; a perfect time for a followup.

About the Author

Sherif Saed avatar

Sherif Saed

Staff Writer

Whether it's news, reviews, or interviews - Sherif is always eager to tell you about video games. He plays shooters more than a sane person should, and occasionally has the skills to show for it.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch