Battlefield 5 reveal – watch the livestream here

By Stephany Nunneley, Wednesday, 23 May 2018 14:14 GMT

EA will reveal the next entry in the Battlefield series this evening, so lace up your boots in preparation for some Battlefield 5 goodness.

The first official look at Battlefield 5 will be shown via livestream, and you can watch it right here.

The livestream is scheduled for 1pm PDT/ 4pm EDT/ 9pm BST/ 10pm CET. You can find the start time for your particular region through here.

Rumors and purported leaks over the past few months suggest Battlefield 5 is set during World War 2, and going by the teaser video and main artwork, this seems to be the case.

Various leaks have suggested the first-person shooter could feature a battle royale mode, cosmetic-only loot boxes, and a Rainbow Six Siege-style prone mechanic.

EA said during its latest call to investors, the Battlefield 5 will feature a new mode that’s “unique and brings new challenges,” which could verify the rumors. Or not. We’ll have to wait and see.

After most of the leaks and rumors surfaced, DICE started teasing the game with a hidden Easter Egg in Battlefield 1, and even took to Twitter to increase the hype with Morse code messages.

If you head over to the official Battlefield website, you’ll see a horse painting which looks very similar to a Lipizzan. The horses were rescued during World War 2.

Earlier today, the Battlefield 5 Google+ page posted an image of what appears to be a Native American in the 506th Parachute Infantry Regiment, 101st Airborne Division (thanks, reddit). We can’t be sure, but it appears that way just going by the image.

We’ll find out whether the leaks and rumors were true this evening during the livestream, which will be hosted by The Daily Show’s Trevor Noah.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments