PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds will go offline tomorrow to implement backend changes needed for “anti-cheat measure”

By Stephany Nunneley, Thursday, 26 October 2017 18:56 GMT

PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds will go offline for maintenance tomorrow, so prepare accordingly.

A one hour maintenance is scheduled tomorrow for PUBG to implement changes to a backend system. This is needed for an “anti-cheat measure,” according to Bluehole.

It will start on October 26 at 7pm PT/ 10pm ET. It goes offline in the wee hours across the pond at 3am UK/ 4am CEST.

Earlier this month BattlEye, the anti-cheat system PUBG uses, said over 322,000 cheaters had been banned since PUBG launched in March. This figure was twice what was reported in September when the 150,000 figure was tossed out.

BattlEye said at the time there were between 6,000 – 13,000 bans occurring each day.

Just this week, the anti-cheat firm said it had banned nearly 25,000 in a 24 hour period between October 20-21.  On October 22, that number had reached upwards of 42,000.

Hopefully, tomorrow’s maintenance period will help matters.

Battlegrounds has been available through Steam Early Access since March, and Bluehole is aiming for the 1.0 launch later this year. Earlier today, the latest PUBG patch which makes the blue zone deadlier was released.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.