Skip to main content
If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Gears 2 soundtrack announced

The VG247 logo in white on a red background
Image credit: VG247


The official Gears of War 2 soundtrack's been announced, ahead of the game's release on November 7.

The music will be released on November 25, apparently, both physically and digitally.

Steve Jablonsky behind it all, him what did the music for Transformers, The Island, and Texas Chainsaw Massacre.

Press release after the link.


Original Music Score by Hollywood Composer Steve Jablonskyand performed by the Skywalker Symphony Orchestra and Chorus

New York – Oct. 27, 2008 – Sumthing Else Music Works, Inc., through its licensing relationship with Epic Games, Inc., proudly presents Gears of War® 2 The Soundtrack. The original soundtrack from the highly anticipated blockbuster Xbox 360™ action video game will be released on Nov. 25, 2008 to retail outlets through Nile Rodgers’ Sumthing Else Music Works record label, and for digital download at

Gears of War 2 The Soundtrack features a new original music score composed by Hollywood composer Steve Jablonsky (“Transformers”, “The Island”, “The Texas Chainsaw Massacre”) and recorded with the Skywalker Symphonic Orchestra and Chorus at the world famous Skywalker Sound.

Epic Games wanted every aspect of Gears of War 2 to be “bigger, darker, and crunchier” than the original game, including the bombastic orchestral soundtrack. Drawing on his extensive experience scoring big budget action films as well as a unique musical repertoire and Hollywood production values, Jablonsky was the perfect match for creating the adrenaline-pumping, emotionally charged Gears of War 2 score.

“It’s been a real treat working with Steve on the score for Gears of War 2. We have a tremendous amount of confidence in him, and believe the Gears community will embrace the new sound," said Mike Larson, Audio Director of Epic Games. "We’ve designed Gears 2 to impact players on a deep emotional level, and much of that connection is made with music that grabs their attention and makes them feel personally involved with the game universe. We have aimed to create something a bit more serious, cinematic, and refined with a harder-hitting approach toward composition and production.”

“Epic gave me a blank canvas, which was really great,” said Steve Jablonsky, Composer for Gears of War 2. “I experimented with a lot of hybrid organic/electronic elements, and combined them with the power of a large orchestra and choir.”

Track Listing:

1. Return Of The Omen
2. Hope Runs Deep
3. Green As Grass
4. Expectations
5. Finally, A Lead
6. Armored Prayer
7. Hold Them Off
8. Derrick Chase
9. Building Thunder
10. Hell Breaks Loose
11. Bedlam
12. Breakneck
13. Landown
14. Racing To Extinction
15. If They Can Ride Em
16. Hollow
17. Unexpected Changes
18. March Of The Horde
19. Highway
20. Denizens Of The Deep
21. With Sympathy
22. Insurmountable Odds
23. Bump In The Night
24. Frenzy
25. Outpost
26. Finale
27. Autumn Of Mankind

Gears of War 2 tells the story of humanity's last stand against the nightmarish, underground Locust Horde, and is the follow-up to one of the most popular Xbox 360 games in history. Gears of War 2 blends best-in-class third-person shooter action with unsurpassed high-definition visuals, all layered on top of an engaging story of survival, loss and retribution. Gears of War 2 will be available worldwide on Nov. 7 exclusively for the Xbox 360 video game and entertainment system. For more information, visit

Read this next