Pokemon Sword and Shield Nintendo Direct coming next week

By Sherif Saed, Monday, 27 May 2019 14:57 GMT

Nintendo is hosting a special Direct featuring Pokemon Sword and Pokemon Shield on Wednesday, June 5.

The Direct will run for 15 minutes, and focus entirely on Pokemon Sword and Shield. It’ll kick off at 6am PT, 9am ET, 2pm BST.

Pokemon Sword and Shield is, of course, the first proper, next-gen Pokemon game on Switch. Unlike last year’s Let’s Go Pikachu and Eevee, Nintendo has been referring to Sword and Shield as a “core RPG.”

Pokemon Sword and Shield is due out later this year, and it’s interesting Nintendo decided to dedicate a full livestream to the game ahead of its E3 2019 Direct. Nintendo didn’t namedrop Sword and Shield when revealing this year’s “entirely software-focused” E3 plan, so it’s possible the game may not have a large presence at the show.

We’ll likely find out a lot more next week. As always, Nintendo Directs can be watched live on the publisher’s YouTube and Twitch channels, and we’ve embedded both below.

Watch live video from Nintendo on www.twitch.tv

Until then, here’s everything we know about Pokemon Sword and Shield.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments