Pokemon Go adds to the Lunar New Year festivities with a Shiny Meltan

By Shabana Arif, Wednesday, 6 February 2019 10:14 GMT

To celebrate the Lunar New Year, the Shiny version of Meltan will appear for a limited time in the game.

The Mythical Pokemon’s appearance is limited to Mystery Boxes from now until 11.59PM PT March 4, 2.59AM ET/ 7.59AM GMT, March 5.

Meltan was introduced last month, as a way of promoting cross-play between Pokemon Go, and Pokemon Let’s Go Pikachu and Eevee games on Nintendo Switch.

Transferring Pokemon from the smartphone game to Switch will get you a Mystery Box. Once opened, the box will remain sealed for an entire week. During this event, the cooldown time has been reduced to three days.

The main event for the Lunar New Year highlights 12 Pokemon that best represent the animals of the Chinese Zodiac, with a Shiny Poink taking centre stage as we head into the Year of the Pig.

Pokemon Go Lunar New Year event ends on February 13 at 1pm PST/ 4pm EST/, 9pm UK/ 10pm CET. You can find out more about it right here.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments