If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Pokemon Go Lunar New Year event players should be on the lookout for Shiny Spoink

The Chinese New Year has kicked off and so had the Pokemon Go Lunar New Year event.

Niantic Labs pushed the button on the Pokemon Go Lunar New Year event yesterday, and you have until February 13 to enjoy the festivities.

This event shines the spotlight on 12 Pokemon which correspond with the various animals featured on the Chinese calendar. 2019 is the Year of the Pig, which means Spoink is the star of the show. If you play Pokemon Go, be on the lookout for a Shiny Poink to add to your collection.

Here's the list of Pokemon which will spawn more often during the event.

Pokemon Go Lunar New Year

Pokemon Go Lunar New Year Event spawns

  • Rattata (Rat)
  • Ekans (Snake)
  • Mankey (Moneky)
  • Ponyta (Horse)
  • Electabuzz (Tiger)
  • Dratini (Dragon)
  • Mareep (Sheep)
  • Miltank (Ox)
  • Torchic (Rooster)
  • Poochyena (Dog)
  • Spoink (Pig)
  • Buneary (Rabbit)

You can also take advantage of  2x catch experience points, and 2x XP when evolving your Pokemon. When you trade Pokemon during the event, there's an increased chance it will become a Lucky Pokemon.

Pokemon Go Lunar New Year event ends on February 13 at 1pm PST/ 4pm EST/, 9pm UK/ 10pm CET.

Don't forget: the most reliable way to get your hands on new Pokemon is through egg hatching.  Look over our Pokemon Go egg hatching cart for some pointers.

You're not signed in!

Create your ReedPop ID & unlock community features and much, much more!

Create account
About the Author
Stephany Nunneley-Jackson avatar

Stephany Nunneley-Jackson

News Editor

Stephany is VG247’s News Editor. With a brain that lacks adhesive ducks, the ill-tempered, chaotic neutral fembot does her best to bring you the most interesting gaming news. She is also unofficially the site’s Lord of the Rings/Elder Scrolls Editor.

Comments
VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

Explore our store
VG247 Merch