Skip to main content
If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

FIFA 16 will include Women's National Teams when it releases in September

For the first time in franchise history, FIFA 16 players will be able to choose from 12 Women's National Teams when playing the football title.

Watch on YouTube

You can compete in Match Day, an Offline Tournament, and Online Friendly Matches with the following teams: Germany, USA, France, Sweden, England, Brazil, Canada, Australia, Spain, China, Italy, Mexico.

Women's National Teams compete exclusively against other Women's National Teams, so you won't be able to pit Sydney Leroux against Cristiano Ronaldo or anything.

“Bringing some of the best women’s players and teams in the world to our franchise is a massive event for EA Sports, and we are equally excited about bringing millions of fans a new way to play,” said David Rutter, VP and GM. “We’re making sure fans get an authentic experience when playing with Women’s National Teams thanks to our innovative player capture and reference tools, as well as the sophisticated gameplay platform which we will continue to innovate on in FIFA 16.”

EA Sports has also doubled down on its new in-game animations and 3D player modelling, to make sure all players are "authentically represented" in the game. This will allow the player in the game to move just like they do during real competition.

Images of Canada's Christine Sinclair, USA's Alex Morgan, and England's Stephanie Houghton being scanned are through the EA Blog post, and a few others are below.

FIFA 16 will be released in September on PC, PlayStation 3, PS4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One.

Read this next