If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Byleth from Fire Emblem: Three Houses joins Super Smash Bros. Ultimate today

Byleth from Fire Emblem: Three Houses is now available in Super Smash Bros. Ultimate.

The character was announced during a special Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Nintendo Direct earlier this month.

Both versions of Byleth are playable.

Byleth is available to players who own the Fighters Pass Volume 1, or alternatively, you can purchase Challenger Pack 5 separately for $5.99 or your regional equivalent. The Byleth pack also comes with the Garreg Mach Monastery stage and 11 new tracks from the Fire Emblem series.

New outfits for Wii Fighter are also available. You can pick up outfits based on Assassin’s Creed, Cuphead, Mega Man, and Rabbids for $0.75 apiece or the regional equivalent.

Alongside the new content comes a new update available to all players. It features game-balance adjustments and changes to fighters. The base patch notes are below, and you can look over the list of fighter changes at the link (thanks, Siliconera).

Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Ver. 7.0.0

  • Offline
    • The following spirits will appear in the Shop on the Vault menu:
      • Edelgard
      • Dimitri (Fire Emblem)
      • Claude
      • Sothis
      • Rhea
      • Seteth
      • Dorothea
      • Ingrid
      • Hilda (Fire Emblem)
    • The following spirits will appear in the Shop and Spirit Board.
      • Radiant Gleam
      • Kloster (Grief)
      • Bullet Walker (Brigadier General)
      • High Line (Guns Empress)
      • I-Tetrimino
      • T-Tetrimino
      • S-Tetrimino & Z-Tetrimino
      • L-Tetrimino & J-Tetrimino
      • O-Tetrimino

      These are spirits that appeared in a previous spirit event that was held for a limited time.

  • Misc.
    • The following downloadable content will be usable after purchase:
      • Byleth Challenger Pack
      • Cuphead Hat + Outfit
      • Altaïr Hood + Outfit
      • Rabbids Hat
      • MegaMan.EXE's Helmet + Armor
      • X's Helmet + Armor
    • You cannot make videos of replays that contain DLC you have not purchased (fighters, stages, music, Mii Fighter costumes, etc.).
    • Game-balance adjustments have been made.
    • Several issues have been fixed to improve the gameplay experience.
About the Author
Stephany Nunneley-Jackson avatar

Stephany Nunneley-Jackson

News Editor

Stephany is VG247’s News Editor. With a brain that lacks adhesive ducks, the ill-tempered, chaotic neutral fembot does her best to bring you the most interesting gaming news. She is also unofficially the site’s Lord of the Rings/Elder Scrolls Editor.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

Explore our store
VG247 Merch