If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood takes home 2010 WGA crown

A hushed silence on stage. The gentle fumble of the envelope. The crowd draws its breath as one, and... Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood walks away with the 2010 Writer's Guild of America award for videogame writing.

Ubisoft's third exploration of the science-fiction conspiracy meta-plot of the Assassin's Creed universe beat out Fallout: New Vegas, God of War III, Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands, Singularity, and Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II to claim top prize.

This is serious props for the team involved; congratulations to Patrice Désilets, Jeffrey Yohalem, Corey May, Ethan Petty, Nicholas Grimwood, and Matt Turner, good Montreal folk all.

It's another feather in the cap of series lead creative Patrice Désilets, whose decamp to the newly-established THQ Montreal has shocked franchise fans.

WGA Videogames Writers Caucus chair Micah Wright recently defended the controversial awards from criticism based on erroneous understanding of the membership requirements and submission protocols.

Thanks, D'Toid.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information


More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch