Skip to main content

Rainbow Six Siege is getting a battle pass alongside its new Year Four content

Big news for Rainbow Six Siege, as Ubisoft has revealed not only the next season of Year Four content, but also a new Battle Pass system.

The third season of Year 4, Operation Ember Rise, introduces new attacking and defending characters - Amaru from Peru and Goyo from Mexico. They're shown off in the video below, alongside some of the other changes coming to the game in this season, which includes a major rework of the 'Kanal' map to make it easier to navigate. All bomb sites have also been changed.

Watch on YouTube

Amaru carries a G8A1 automatic rifle and a Supernova shotgun, and can yse her Garra hook to pull herself up high in a hurry. She also has an ability called Garra kick, which means that if she flings herself through a window with the hook she'll immediately take down anyone standing behind it, making her ideal for flanking maneuvers.

Goyo, meanwhile, has access to the deployable Volcán Shield, which has an incendiary bomb attached to the front of it to really shut down access to certain routes. These are, in fact, the operators that recently leaked.

Ubisoft has also announced a Battle Pass system for the game, which will release later in season three. The first one is a 'mini' battle pass, which they've named 'Call Me Harry'. It'll focus on Dr. Harishva “Harry” Pandey, and will let you use Battle Points earned to unlock tiers and unique rewards, including a 'Harry Chibi charm' when you complete it. This Battle Pass will take place over seven days, and it'll be free to access. More elaborate Battle Passes will come during Year 4.

Watch on YouTube

Ubisoft has also listed some generation improvements and upgrades across the game, including:

  • An all new unranked playlist containing the same rules as Ranked without affecting players’ rank or MMR
  • Fortress, Hereford Base and Theme Park have all been removed from the Ranked and Unranked playlists
  • An all new Champions rank
  • Map rotations have been reworked in Ranked, Casual and Unranked
  • Player Behavior updates to combat in-game toxicity
  • The Operators menu has been reworked
  • The shop interface has been improved

Release dates for this content are not set, but expect it soon.

Read this next