Sea of Thieves beta extended by 2 days

By Sherif Saed
26 January 2018 08:51 GMT

Rare is extending the Sea of Thieves closed beta to compensate players for the many issues the beta’s run into these past couple of days.

As players in the wider gaming community start to experience Sea of Thieves, thanks to the closed beta, many have been running into a number of problems.

Some of the most common errors, like Too Early and BronzeBeard, prompted developer Rare to deploy a few fixes, but things are still not where they need to be. For instance, the ‘Too Early’ fix, although released, is taking longer than anticipated to reach all affected players.

As a result of all the issues, Rare has decided to extended the beta by two more days. Now, the Sea of Thieves closed beta will end at 12am PT, 3am ET, 8am UK on Wednesday, January 31.

Sea of Thieves

Should leave plenty of time for the remaining issues to be resolved, and for players to explore more of the beta uninterrupted.

If you’re looking to jump in soon, be sure to read our guide to sailing, treasure, and combat. Though the game may appear simple, many of its mechanics are not explained very well, or at all in some cases.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch