Ubisoft is fixing For Honor’s one hit kill exploit today, but not without introducing a new glitch

By Sherif Saed, Tuesday, 30 May 2017 09:17 GMT

For Honor’s infamous one hit kill glitch will be fixed in a few hours, but you’ll have to put up with a much less critical glitch.

Over the past few days, a glitch/exploit in For Honor came to light as more and more players started running into it.

Dubbed the one hit kill bug, the glitch allowed players to kill their enemies in one hit by performing a specific sequence of attacks. It was mostly encountered against Wardens, but was later discovered to affect multiple heroes. The video above gives a quick overview of it.

Needless to say, this spread like wildfire considering how easy it was to replicate. The cause likely has something to do with the game’s death from above mechanic that grants bonus damage when landing a hit after jumping off a ledge. The same logic is what causes the game to think a death from above attack was triggered, when it did not.

Some players suggested disabling death from above until a proper fix has been introduced, but the developer actually managed to identify a fix without compromising death from above.

This fix will deployed in a patch today on PC, PS4, and Xbox One, following server maintenance. It goes live at 5am PT, 8am ET, 1pm BST, 2pm CEST. Unfortunately, the patch is going to come with its own glitch.

Ubisoft warned players that performing a guard break out of lock followed by an out of lock attack will result in a different attack stance. For Lawbringer, this means left stance will be activated on light and heavy attacks, instead of right stance. For Conqueror, the top stance would trigger on light attacks instead of the right stance.

Nobushi players will see the left stance trigger on heavy attacks instead of the right stance. For Berserker, players will see the left stance on light and heavy attacks instead of the right stance. Finally, for Raider, the top stance will be activated on light attacks instead of the right stance.

“We’re releasing with this glitch as we felt it was much more important to address this bug as soon as possible, rather than delay the fix rollout and solve these issues. This will of course be addressed in a coming update,” community manager Eric Pope noted.

The game’s next patch should be rolling out soon, so hopefully the wait won’t be too long.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments