Where to watch all the reveals from Summer Game Fest, PlayStation, Xbox, and more

By James Billcliffe, Tuesday, 12 May 2020 12:53 GMT

E3 2020 is cancelled. But even without a big show to announce their projects at, gaming’s biggest developers and publishers still have to reveal their lineups somewhere.

Here’s when and where you can tune in to see everyone’s surprises across the summer of 2020.

For every upcoming game with a release date, take a look at our full list, here.

Sony – PS5 livestream June 4 (rumor)

2020 is still supposed to be the start of a new console generation, with the PS5 and Microsoft’s Xbox Series X slated for release towards the end of year.

While no official date has been announced, the hot rumor is that Sony is planning a new PS5 livestream event at the start of June. With further sources speculating that we could be seeing something as soon as June 4.

Until then, you can slake your thirst for PlayStation knowledge with the next State of Play livestream, which will focus on the upcoming Suckerpunch slasher, Ghost of Tsushima.

It’s on May 14 at 4PM ET, 1PM PT, and 9PM BST:

Xbox Series X – Monthly Xbox 20/20 streams

Rather than sticking to the usual E3-style, single show bonanza, Microsoft has chosen to run a series of Xbox 20/20 events leading up to the release of the Series X.

The first event was on May 7, where we got new details on Assassin’s Creed: Valhalla.

Since it lines up nicely with the usual E3 showcase in June, you could expect the next Xbox 20/20 stream to include a strong roster of announcements:

The streams will continue monthly thereafter, including in new Halo gameplay in July.

Summer Game Fest – May 12 – Aug 24

Seemingly in response to the shambles E3 was becoming, The Game Awards executive producer Geoff Keighley announced the Summer Game Fest, pledging to bring “the world together to celebrate video games” from May to August.

The festival is supposed to include games from:

  • 2K
  • Activision
  • Bandai Namco
  • Bethesda
  • Blizzard
  • Bungie
  • CDPR
  • Digital Extremes
  • EA
  • Sony
  • Private Division
  • Riot Games
  • Square Enix
  • Steam
  • Warner Bros
  • Xbox

On May 12, the first “Sunrise” stream kicked off at 5PM BST, 12PM ET and 9AM PT, it included a “surprise game reveal”, which turned out to be remasters of Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 1 and 2. The reveal was a little less surprising than intended though, as an announcement went out to Tony’s text message fan club half an hour early – oops.

Now on May 13, we’re getting an SGF Special Event, which features a larger showcase and interview from Keighley.

You can watch this next reveal at 11AM ET, 8AM PT, 4PM BST, here:

A month later, on June 11, CD Projekt Red is showing off even more Cyberpunk 2077 footage (even though we’re now past the game’s original release date).

Then finally of what’s been announced so far, Keighley will present his usual Gamescom Opening Night Live digitally on August 24.

Valve – Steam Game Festival: Summer Edition June 9-14

Also under the umbrella of the Summer Game Fest, Valve is running another Steam Game Festival.

This is where you can download demos for tons of unreleased games and add them to your wishlist.

Visit the official page to set a reminder, here.

EA – EA Play June 12

With support from the Summer Game Fest as well, EA will present its usual E3 show – EA Play.

Expect updates on all of its major sports franchises, as well as Battlefield, Star Wars, and some possible new teases.

Ubisoft – Ubisoft Forward July 12

Between Assassin’s Creed, Watch Dogs, and everything else in its roster, Ubisoft has a stacked 2020/2021 lineup.

You’ll be able to find out more on July 12.

Devolver Digital – Devolver Direct

Devolver Digital’s tongue-in-cheek Devolver Direct is always a highlight of the E3 schedule.

Devolver took to Twitter to announce that the show is happening, but doesn’t have a nailed-on date yet.

Nintendo – Next Nintendo Direct

The last Nintendo Direct Mini was a good while ago on March 26, where we got a look at Xenoblade Chronicles and Bravely Default 2.

Nintendo was ahead of the curve when it took its E3 Treehouse Live event online a few years ago, and will likely drop a similar stream in early-mid June.

Bethesda – Bethesda At Home

Bethesda is another E3 regular, and while its not announced its replacement show yet, the publisher is running a series of Bethesda At Home streams every week.

The current highlight looks to be the Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor stream on Friday May 15 at 4PM ET (9PM BST, 1PM PT).

Square Enix – Stay Home and Play

Like Bethesda, Square Enix has no livestream announced yet, but is currently running #stayhomeandplay with free games and discounts.

Google – Stadia Connect

The most recent Stadia Connect was on April 28, and revealed a load of games coming to Google’s streaming platform.

As we move into what’s normally E3 time, expect another string of announcements.

Capcom – Multiple New Titles

Capcom is another publisher without a set stream, but is apparently set to release multiple new titles before March 2021 – with Resident Evil 8 the most hotly tipped.

Watch this space for more.

Blizzard – Blizzcon 2020

While it’s not strictly in summer, Blizzcon is usually chock-full of announcements, but has understandably been put on hold.

While no online alternative has been mooted, it wouldn’t be out of the realms of possibility for the news to move online at some point.

E3 2020 exhibitors

For a full list of everyone that supposedly had announcements up their sleeve, here’s the roster of companies that were set to show at E3 2020:

  • Activision Publishing, Inc.
  • Amazon Game Studios
  • Bad Button Studio
  • BANDAI NAMCO Entertainment America Inc.
  • Bethesda Softworks
  • Capcom USA, Inc.
  • Click Entertainment
  • DvG
  • Deep Silver, Inc.
  • Epic Games Inc.
  • Funcom
  • GAMELOFT
  • GFUEL
  • GTR Simulator
  • GungHo Online Entertainment America
  • HORI USA
  • Hyperkin, Inc.
  • Kalypso Media Group
  • KontrolFreek
  • Limited Run Games
  • LGA Enterprises
  • NCSOFT
  • nDreams
  • NEXT LEVEL RACING
  • Nintendo of America Inc.
  • NVIDIA
  • PureArts
  • Oculus from Facebook
  • RDS Industries Inc.
  • Rebellion
  • SEGA
  • Square Enix, Inc.
  • Take-Two Interactive Software
  • Tastemakers
  • TECHNISPORT
  • THQ Nordic
  • Ubisoft Entertainment SA
  • UCC Distributing Inc
  • UnnamedVR by Paracosma
  • Warner Bros. Games
  • Xbox
  • XSEED Games
  • Xsolla

We’ll keep this page updated as schedules progress, so check back for the latest!

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments