Rise of the Tomb Raider wins big at the 2016 Writers Guild Awards

By James O'Connor
14 February 2016 22:43 GMT

Rise of the Tomb Raider has claimed the Writers Guild’s ‘Outstanding Achievement in Videogame Writing’ award for 2016.

rise_of_the_tomb_raider_pc (2)

This is a major victory for the game, and the only award offered to a video game during the ceremony. The other nominees were Assassin’s Creed Syndicate, The Witcher 3, and Pillars of Eternity.

The award recognised four contributing writers: lead narrative designer John Stafford, narrative designer Cameron Suey, lead writer Rhianna Pratchett, and additional writer Philip Gelatt.

A full list of winners in the film categories, for those interested, is available on the Writer’s Guild of America website.

Rise of the Tomb Raider is now available for Xbox One and PC, and should come to PS4 towards the end of 2016.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch