What is Pokemon Sun and Moon? We’ll probably find out tomorrow

Thursday, 25 February 2016 14:19 GMT By Stephany Nunneley

Nintendo has registered trademarks in Europe for Pokemon Sun and Pokemon Moon ahead of tomorrow’s Nintendo Direct.

The trademarks were found by Nerd Leaks and the logos have now made their way around the internet.

Tomorrow’s Nintendo Direct will be devoted to Pokemon in celebration of the franchise’s 20th Anniversary.

Section nine of the trademark covers the usual CD ROM, cartridges and disc-based releases, but mobile is also covered in section nine. This could be one of the five smartphone games DeNA is developing with Nintendo – the first to be released is Miitomo and it’s out next month.

We’ll see if we can dig up more on this. If not, we’ll have to wait until tomorrow. It kicks off at 7am PT/10am ET/3pm UK.

Thanks, Nintendo Everything.

pokemon_moon_tm

pokemon_sun_tm

pokemon-sun-moon

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.