If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Call of Duty: WW2 private beta details revealed

Call of Duty: WW2 developer Sledgehammer Games has outlined what players can expect from the game's beta later this month.

To start with, the private beta will go live first on PS4 on August 25 and remain exclusive for that weekend. The next weekend, September 1, the beta will be available on PS4 and Xbox One, but the developer did not specifically mention PC.

As far as content, it sounds like it's going to be pretty hefty. At least three maps will be available including: Du Hoc, Ardennes, and Gibraltar. Team Deathmatch, Domination, and Hardpoint will be the available modes.

War Mode, the attack/defend mode new to the series, will also be represented in the beta. Only one operation, Breakout, will be available. You'll also be able to try out the new Divisions system, which replaces create-a-class.

All five Divisions will be accessible in the beta. That's Infantry, Expeditionary, Airborne, Armoured, and Mountain Division. Progression will be limited, however, and not all weapons, scorestreaks, and Basic Training Skills will be available.

Sadly, although the beta is intended to stress test matchmaking, the often talked about Headquarters mode won't be part of the test.

Sledgehammer promised to reveal more about the beta, and show off some of the content during a livestream from Cologne, Germany at gamescom this year. The show will be streamed at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm BST, 7pm CEST on Tuesday, August 22.

About the Author

Sherif Saed avatar

Sherif Saed

Staff Writer

Whether it's news, reviews, or interviews - Sherif is always eager to tell you about video games. He plays shooters more than a sane person should, and occasionally has the skills to show for it.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information

Comments

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch