Battlefield 5 update adds ray tracing support, fixes plenty of bugs

By Sherif Saed, Wednesday, 14 November 2018 16:35 GMT

The Battlefield 5 early access period is nearly over, and players who jump in starting later today will do so with a better version of the game.

Battlefield 5 received a day one update earlier today on PC, PS4, and Xbox One – just in time for the deluxe edition launch. The game has, of course, been playable since Friday, with a day zero patch.

The biggest addition in today’s update is DXR (ray tracing) support for PC players using one of Nvidia’s new RTX GPUs.

Outside of that, there’s a long list of fixes, from the bizarre no-revive bug, to the more common uneven teams issue. The only balance tweak has to do with the HP of the spawn planes in Airborne, which should now make it easier for attackers to reach the drop zone without dying.

General

  • Fixed an issue that could result in a very uneven number of players at the start of a round.
  • Made improvements to matchmaking with a full squad which should result in less disconnects.
  • In some cases, the revive functionality would suddenly stop to function for all of the players on a server. This has now been fixed.
  • Further improvements to game client stability have been made.
  • In the Airborne game mode, spawn protection has been added when attackers spawn into planes. The planes are no longer as vulnerable to AA fire as they used to be at longer distances.
  • Fixed an issue in Airborne where the bomb carriers could finish arming the objective even though they were dead.
  • Players can no longer shoot down airplanes too quickly in Airborne, which could result in the attackers not being able to spawn.
  • In War Stories, players are no longer able to collect Letters while playing offline due to them not being able to update the persistence counters, which requires an online connection.
  • Fixed an issue where a weapon would disappear on the weapon selection screen.
  • Fixed an issue in Frontlines mode on Devastation where the bomb in some rare cases spawned inside a wall.
  • Fixed an issue which made the menus unusable when cancelling a matchmaking session.
  • Fixed an issue with the lens sight alignment on the MP34 weapon.

PC

  • RTX ray tracing can now be enabled with graphics cards that support this function.

Xbox One

  • Improved how the game resumes when using the Xbox One Instant-On function.

The deluxe edition will start unlocking for players today as well, beginning 3am PT, 6am ET, 11am GMT. Not everyone will be able to play today, though it should be available for owners no later than November 15 at 10pm PT, 1am ET, 5am GMT.

DICE recently announced that so many of Battlefield 5’s small UI frustrations are being fixed.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments