If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Pokemon Go: first Gen 3 Pokemon coming this weekend, more to release gradually starting in December

Gen 3 Pokemon will start arriving in Pokemon Go this weekend for the Halloween event.

Pokemon Go players will see the return of Gastly, Drowzee, Cubone, and other Ghost-types this year, along with creatures from Gen 3 titles Pokemon Ruby and Sapphire. New Pokemon include Sableye, Banette, and a few others.

More Gen 3 Pokemon will "gradually arrive" starting as early as December.

A special Pikachu will be out and about with a new costume, and players can dress their avatar up for the occasion by wearing Mimikyu’s Disguise Hat.

While out looking for Pokemon, players will earn extra Candy with Buddy Pokemon. Candy rewards from catching, hatching, and transferring Pokemon will be doubled, and the player's "buddy" will find Candy twice as fast during the Halloween celebration.

Special boxes from the in-game shop, featuring items such as Raid Passes and Super Incubators will be available.

The Pokemon Go Halloween celebration starts tomorrow, October 20 at 12pm PT, 3pm ET, 8pm UK and run until November 2 at 1pm PT, 4pm ET, 9pm UK.

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch