If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Destiny going offline today to prepare for Rise of Iron content patch

Destiny servers will have a bit of an extended downtime later today ahead of the release of the Rise of Iron patch.

destiny_rise_of_iron_story_mission_2_2

We're less than two weeks away from the release of Destiny's Rise of Iron expansion. As is custom, a patch that includes most of the DLC content will be made available prior to the expansions' launch, and that's today.

At 8am PT, 11am ET, 4pm BST, and 5pm CEST, Destiny servers will go offline. You won't be able to log-in, and those who are already playing, will be kicked out during the following hour.

Everything should go back to normal at 4pm PT, 7pm ET, 12am BST, and 1am CEST (Friday). During that window, patch 2.4.0 will begin pre-downloading automatically. You may still need to download another small patch after servers go back up.

We're probably going to find out more about patch contents during the weekly Bungie update.

Rise of Iron is out September 20 on PS4 and Xbox One.

About the Author

Sherif Saed avatar

Sherif Saed

Staff Writer

Whether it's news, reviews, or interviews - Sherif is always eager to tell you about video games. He plays shooters more than a sane person should, and occasionally has the skills to show for it.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information

Comments

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch