Here’s when you can download the Minecraft RTX beta

By Sherif Saed, Thursday, 16 April 2020 14:02 GMT

The Minecraft RTX beta is just a few hours away.

As promised, today is the day Minecraft RTX open beta goes live.

This is a special branch of the Windows 10, Bedrock version that uses ray tracing, physically-based rendering and other cutting-edge graphical techniques to completely change how the game looks.

The beta goes live today at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm UK, but you’ll first need to sign up through the Xbox Insider website to get an invite. You can also download the Insider App and do it there. It’s an open beta, so it shouldn’t take long for you to get in. You’ll need an RTX 2060 or better.

You’ll find six new worlds designed to showcase the beta’s various graphical upgrades, made by Minecraft creators. Though the beta supports multiplayer, you’ll be only be able to play with othes running the same RTX beta.

Alex has played it early, and he was impressed by the massive difference ray tracing makes to Minecraft. Hit the link for his impressions, and for an idea on what to expect when you jump in.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

12-20
SEPTEMBER
2020
THE WORLD'S
LARGEST DIGITAL
GAMES EVENT
New games | Panels | Let's Plays | Industry Insight | Esports tournaments | Livestreams | Tabletop gaming | Exclusive merch | More!

Comments