Pokémon Go Valentine’s Day event showers players with Candy and a ton of pink pokémon

By Shabana Arif, Wednesday, 8 February 2017 17:36 GMT

Valentine’s Day and Candy go hand-in-hand, and Niantic are making sure you get your fair share in the Pokémon Go Valentine’s Day event.

pokemon go valentines day event

Pokémon GO is still on one hell of a roll, becoming the fastest app to reach $1B in global revenue.

Niantic has been doing a good job of retaining players’ interest with reward events themed around various holidays.

Seeing as we’re hurtling towards mid-February, next up is Valentine’s Day, and this month’s event is a doozy.

Over the course of the event players will earn double the amount of Candy for catching, hatching, and transferring pokémon. Not only that, but Buddy pokémon will also find Candy twice as fast.

To help get those catch numbers up, Lure Modules will last for a whopping six hours during the event.

Don’t be surprised to see more pink pokémon floating around than usual as the encounter rate is up for all of them until the event wraps up. Plus Cleffa, Igglybuff, and Smoochum will be more likely to hatch from Eggs.

The Pokémon Go Valentine’s Day event kicks off today at 11AM PST/ 2PM EST/ 7PM GMT and closes on February 15 at 11AM PST/ 2PM EST/ 7PM GMT.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.