Nintendo announces E3 fun for those at home, releases new Legend of Zelda image

By Stephany Nunneley, Wednesday, 8 June 2016 21:10 GMT

Nintendo has provided a way for fans at home to “stay engaged with its E3 activities” next week, and released a new piece of concept art for The Legend of Zelda in the process.

the_legend_of_zelda_wii_u

Nintendo announces E3 fun for those at home, releases new Legend of Zelda image

Starting June 14, an eShop sale will offer discounts on some of the company’s most popular games, with My Nintendo members being handed a special bonus when purchasing select titles.

The sale will kick off at 11am PT/2pm ET/7pm BST and ends on June 21 at 8.59am PT/11.59am ET/4.50pm BST. The discounted games can be purchased in the Nintendo eShop or through the firm’s E3 2016 page.

Miitomo players will also be handed Link-centric gifts should a special tweet be shared 10,000 times worldwide. It’s already met the large number, so users will be gifted with a “Link’s new hair wig” for the mobile app.

If it gets 20,000 combined retweets, Nintendo will give all Miitomo users a “Link wig” in the Miitomo app.

A themed Miitomo Drop game will also give users The Legend of Zelda-themed in-app gear for their Mii character. Players will also be able to use Miitomo coins in Miitomo to purchase The Legend of Zelda collaboration items.

An additional The Legend of Zelda collaboration gift will be available on the My Nintendo website, and players can exchange their My Nintendo Platinum Points for this item.

Nintendo also reiterated its E3 2016 Treehouse: Live plans which we have reposted below in full.

June 14

Nintendo Treehouse: Live – Day 1: Nintendo’s kickoff to the E3 trade show begins at 9 a.m. PT, with an introduction by Nintendo of America President and COO Reggie Fils-Aime and the world’s first look at live gameplay of The Legend of Zelda game for the Wii U console. Viewers can also catch the first live gameplay of the Pokémon Sun and Pokémon Moon games. Watch Nintendo Treehouse: Live via Nintendo’s channels on YouTube and Twitch, as well as on the Nintendo E3 page.

June 15

Nintendo Treehouse: Live – Day 2: Starting at 10 a.m. PT, the Nintendo Treehouse: Live programming will showcase upcoming Wii U and Nintendo 3DS games, including Monster Hunter Generations from Capcom, Dragon Quest VII: Fragments of the Forgotten Past and Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE. The day will start with a special Pokémon GO developer Q&A. Watch all of Nintendo’s action from the E3 show floor via Nintendo’s channels on YouTube and Twitch, as well as on the Nintendo E3 page.

E3 2016 takes place next week, June 14-16.

Be sure to check out our E3 2016 hub for all the news, videos, screenshots, interviews and much more, live and direct for this year’s show.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments