Rockstar details RDR Undead Nightmare’s Land Grab

By Joe Anderson
22 October 2010 21:17 GMT


Rockstar’s detailed the Land Grab mode that comes with the new Red Dead Redemption pack, Undead Nightmare.

Land Grab is a brand new Free Roam multiplayer Mode where players fight for control over a section of up to seven different towns, Rockstar said on its website.

Players initiate the mode by visiting one of the seven distinct areas (Armadillo, Blackwater, Chuparosa, Escalera, Las Hermanas, MacFarlane’s Ranch and Thieves Landing) and finding the post that says Land Grab.  Once the post is activated, a countdown will begin and players are then given control over a radius of territory, displayed on the in-game map.

According to Rockstar, in order to lay claim to the land, players must remain inside the predetermined radius, and defend against any oncoming enemies.  If another player sneaks your area and activates the post again or you leave, you’ll lose control of the territory.

Furthermore, while the land grab is active, players add to the XP pot awarded at the conclusion of the match by taking down other players. XP can also be shared as Posses are also supported in this new mode.

Finally, when time is up, the match ends and the XP pot is then divided between all players that held the land at any point during the match, with larger percentages going to the players that held it longest.

A minimum of three people must be in a session to start a Land Grab, and this mode is only available in Normal and Hardcore Free modes.

All players can participate in an active Land Grab, Rockstar said, but only players that have the Undead Nightmare Pack can initiate a game.

The Undead Nightmare pack will release next Tuesday on PlayStation Network and Xbox Live.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch