PSA: LEGO Universe shutters today

By Brenna Hillier, Monday, 30 January 2012 23:07 GMT

There’re just a few precious hours left to play LEGO Universe before the short-lived MMO closes down forever today.

LEGO Universe’s servers close down permanently at midnight EST (9:00PM PST/5:00AM GMT/4:00PM AEST).

Players are invited to share their memories and experiences on the game’s forum, and an FAQ on the closure is available, giving details on refunds for incomplete subscriptions and a sad summary of the game’s fate.

“After one year the game has nowhere near as many subscribers as we needed to be able to keep it running,” the FAQ states, apologising for breaking relationships with kids and ruining their relatives’ presents.

NetDevil’s bricktastic effort launched in October 2010 after more than two years of delays.

Thanks, Massively.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments

Headlines

Lego Universe

  • The sad saga of LEGO Universe's dong detection

    Shuttered MMO LEGO Universe was in constant conflict with a mighty opponent: the human impulse to draw dicks.

  • LEGO Universe shutting down on January 31

    LEGO Group has announced its to close down its LEGO Universe MMO on January 31 to the lack of players. According to the firm it was a “very difficult decision to make”, but the game didn’t draw in enough members to “keep the game open.” As a thank you, all current, paying subscribers as of […]

Netdevil