If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

First Call of Duty: Black Ops 3 DLC is called Awakening, hits in early 2016

The first content drop for Call of Duty: Black Ops 3 will arrive on PlayStation in early 2016.

Titled Awakening, the DLC will be exclusive to PlayStation platforms for 30-days.

The exclusivity deal between Sony and Activision was announced back June, so expect all extra content to arrive on PlayStation consoles first.

After the 30-day period is up, PC and Xbox players can download the content.

Awakening is the first of four planned DLC map packs and it comes with four multiplayer maps: Skyjacked, Rise, Splash, and Gauntlet.

It also featured the next chapter in the Black Ops 3 Zombies saga, Der Eisendrachen.

Also of note, during the PlayStation Experience keynote, it was also announced Sony would be the presenting partner for the Call of Duty World League which kicks off in early 2016.

The pre-season qualifiers are going on this weekend in Los Angeles, Cologne, and Sydney.


About the Author

Stephany Nunneley avatar

Stephany Nunneley

News Editor

Half-blind/half-dyslexic, bad typist, wine enthusiast, humanitarian, intellectual savant, idiot savior, lover of all things nonsensical, animal hoarder and highly sarcastic.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information


More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch