Hidetaka Miyazaki receives Lifetime Achievement Award at Golden Joysticks

By Shabana Arif
18 November 2018 19:42 GMT

Dark Souls series creator, Hidetaka Miyazaki, was the recipient of the lifetime achievement award at the 2018 Golden Joystick Awards.

Hidetaka Miyazaki, creator of the Dark Souls series and Bloodborne, was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Golden Joysticks in London, but credited everyone at From Software, everyone who has worked with the studio over the years, and the publishers in his acceptance speech.

Fighting Fantasy co-creators, Steve Jackson and Ian Livingstone, were on hand to present Miyazaki with the award.

“It’s such a surprise and an honor to receive this prestigious Golden Joystick Award. I’m quite humbled,” he said. “This award is not just my award. It goes out to everyone who has worked with me over the years making games, everyone who has shared this passion with me, and so I want to thank again everyone who has collaborated with From Software and everyone in From Software, our publishers, thanks again for everything. Thank you to my family for all of their support, and more than anything, thank you to the players, everyone who has played, enjoyed, and appreciated my games.

“It’s thanks to you, all the players, that I have been able to carry on making games with the one simple goal of making games that are interesting. And I am so glad to have been able to make games in these exciting times with all of you.

“I plan to carry on making games as long as I am able, and I will do my very best to make sure that they’re games that you will enjoy, so thank you for your continued support in advance.”

Watch Golden Joystick Awards 2018 from GoldenJoystickAwards on www.twitch.tv

Miyazaki didn’t leave the stage without giving a shout out to From Software’s next title, Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice.

“And, coming up very soon, we have Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice, which is due to be launched in March, so you can look forward to that,” he concluded.

Miyazaki joins the ranks of previous winners of the award, Ken Levine, Hideo Kojima, Satoru Iwata, Eiji Aonuma, and Sid Meier.

Fortnite won the award for Ultimate Game of the Year, while God of War took home the awards for Best Storytelling, Best Visual Design, and Best Audio. Red Dead Redemption 2 was awarded Critics’ Choice.

You can check out the full list of who won what below:

  • Best Storytelling: God of War
  • Best Competitive Game: Fortnite Battle Royale
  • Best Cooperative Game: Monster Hunter: World
  • Best Visual Design: God of War
  • Best Indie Game: Dead Cells
  • Best Audio: God of War
  • Still Playing Award: World of Tanks
  • Best Performer: Bryan Dechart, Detroit: Become Human
  • Esports Game of the Year: Overwatch
  • Best VR Game: The Elder Scrolls 5: Skyrim VR
  • Studio of the Year: SIE Santa Monica Studio
  • Best New Streamer/Broadcaster: Bryan Dechart and Amelia Rose Blaire
  • Mobile Game of the Year: PUBG Mobile
  • PC Game of the Year: Subnautica
  • PlayStation Game of the Year: God of War
  • Xbox Game of the Year: Forza Horizon 4
  • Nintendo Game of the Year: Octopath Traveler
  • Breakthrough Award: Unknown Worlds
  • Most Wanted Game: Cyberpunk 2077
  • Critics Choice Award: Red Dead Redemption 2
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Hidetaka Miyazaki
  • Outstanding Contribution: Xbox Adaptive Controller
  • Ultimate Game of the Year: Fortnite Battle Royale

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch