Here’s what Ubisoft is looking to improve with Rainbow Six Siege’s Operation Health

By Sherif Saed, Wednesday, 24 May 2017 10:46 GMT

This is what Rainbow Six Siege developers will be working on in the next few weeks.


Earlier this month, Rainbow Six Siege developer Ubisoft Montreal made a surprise announcement that it’s delaying the game’s next scheduled DLC to kick start something called Operation Health.

Operation Health is an attempt to improve the game by streamlining matchmaking, fix lingering bugs, and generally make for a better experience all around. Now, the developer has revealed in a blog post exactly what it hopes to fix in the game’s upcoming patches 2.2.1, and 2.2.2.

Work on Operation Health is also underway, and the in-game background will be changed to reflect that today following server maintenance. Ranks will also be reset after this maintenance. It lasts for an hour, and will kick off at 9am EDT (6am PT, 2pm BST) on PS4, 10am EDT (7am PT, 3pm BST) on Xbox One, and 11am EDT (8am PT, 4pm BST) on PC.

Here’s what you can expect from Operation Health:

One-step matchmaking

-We are focusing on the testing and implementation of One Step Matchmaking. We are currently testing this on the TTS.

Map fixes

-Our level design team will be taking a pass on all maps to correct various bugs/glitches.

Game crashes

-Our technical team will be reviewing the layers of code that are leading to game crashes. This will provide you with a more stable playing experience.

Hit boxes

-Currently being tested on the Technical Test Server, the hit box refactor is continuing to under-go further testing prior to being deployed to the live build of the game.

Spawn killing

-We have seen the community’s frustrations regarding spawn killing, and our level design teams will be taking steps to mitigate the locations where this is still possible. To be clear, spawn killing is when a Defender is able to kill you within seconds of spawning. Running towards the objective and dying for not using cover is not considered spawn killing.

Join in progress

-We do not intend for players to be placed into Ranked matches that are already in progress. We are also going to be working on the various bugs encountered by people when they join a match in progress in Casual.

Defuser issues (audio, planting, destroying)

-Interaction with the Defuser is not always fluid and intuitive, and sometimes does not work as intended. We will be doing a pass on the Defuser as a whole to address these issues. The various Defuser issues will be worked on throughout the entirety of Operation Health.


Glaz will be receiving some attention.

Every one of these points will be fully detailed buy the developers in the coming weeks. The plan is to have all included items in the game by patch 2.2.2.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.