GDC: Portal wins GOTY at Choice Awards

By Patrick Garratt
21 February 2008 11:10 GMT


GDC really is the awards vehicle that keeps on giving. Here are the winners from yesterday’s Choice Awards. All we can say is, “Please make another Crackdown.”

  • Best Game Design – Portal (Valve) Kim Swift, Realm Lovejoy, Paul Graham Best Visual Art – BioShock (2K Boston/2K Australia / 2K Games) Scott Sinclair, Shawn Robertson, Andrew James
  • Best Technology – Crysis (Crytek/Electronic Arts) Cevat Yerli, Douglas Binks, Timur Davidenko, Martin Mittring
  • Best Writing – BioShock (2K Boston/2K Australia / 2K Games) Ken Levine, Emily Ridgway, Joe McDonagh, Susan O’Connor
  • Best Audio – BioShock (2K Boston/2K Australia / 2K Games) Eric Brosius, Pat Balthrop, Emily Ridgway, Justin Mullins
  • Best Debut – Crackdown (Real Time Worlds / Microsoft Game Studios) Ramon Gonzalez, Violetta Sanchez, Rafael Diaz, Jose Guerra
  • Innovation – Portal (Valve) Kim Swift, Erik Wolpaw
  • Best Handheld Game – The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass (Nintendo / Nintendo) Eiji Aonuma
  • Best Downloadable Game – Flow (thatgamecompany / Sony Computer Entertainment) Kellee Santiago, Jenova Chen, Martin Middleton, Hao Cui, John Edwards, Nick Clark
  • Game of the Year – Portal (Valve) Kim Swift, Erik Wolpaw
  • Recipients for the evening’s special awards were: Lifetime Achievement Award Sid Meier, Pioneer Award Ralph Baer, Ambassador Award Jason Della Rocca

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch