Sections

Rumour – Project RedLime to be unveiled at gamescom

Thursday, 11th August 2011 00:21 GMT By Brenna Hillier

Starbreeze Studio’s Project Redlime, long suspected to be a revamp of Syndicate, looks very likely to appear at gamescom if a hastily deleted tweet from a Starbreeze employee is any indication.

Our tireless friends at PlaySyndicate.de turned up this tweet from Starbreeze staffer Rickard Johnson before its rapid deletion:

“Grand moment approaching. The reveal for Starbreeze and EA’s Project Redlime. Time to meet the press.”

According to PlaySyndicate.de, Johnson has been involved in boss, player experience and mission design on Project RedLime.

Project Redlime has been rumoured for reveal before every major event almost since its announcement. EA and Starbreeze have officially only confirmed that the project will revive a neglected EA IP, but the evidence – trademarks, domain registrations, script leaks – all suggest Bullfrog’s classic real time tactics property is the target.

Gamescom is next week. EA’s presser will be held on Tuesday, August 16 at 4pm CET, 3pm BST, 10am EST, 8am PST, and 12:30 pm Sydney (Aug 17).

Breaking news

4 Comments

Sign in to post a comment.

  1. Blerk

    About time!

    Very interested to see what they’ve been up to.

    #1 3 years ago
  2. Gekidami

    Wasnt this meant to be revealed in a mag some time ago? I guess it either wasnt true or wasnt this, then?

    #2 3 years ago
  3. Freek

    In before the crushing dissapointment that it turns out to be a completly linear, short, “cinematic” FPS game with a deathmatch mode that nobody will ever play.
    Leaving everybody wondering: “Why the hell is this even called Syndicate?”

    #3 3 years ago
  4. revolting

    @3 I’m anticipating the hell out of this, and that’s my only concern. The Syndicates, along with the original X-COMs, are right up their in my all time favourites of yore list. The last thing I want from a new Syndicate is a repeat of the current X-COM debacle.

    #4 3 years ago