SCEE trademarks PSVita, PlayStation Vita in Europe

Monday, 6 June 2011 08:39 GMT By Johnny Cullen

SCEE’s registered two new PSVita trademarks in Europe, which seems to all but confirm that this’ll be the final name for NGP.

As spotted by GAF, the trademarks were made on Friday to the Trademarks and Designs Registration Office of the European Union. It’s classified for use under a whole list of goods, but you can probably guess it’s not going to be used for them.

Vita’s been rumoured to be the proper name of Sony’s next-gen PSP, which has been going under the codename Next-Generation Portable since its unveiling in January, as of last week.

Expect the device to have an almighty blowout when Sony holds its E3 press conference in the the early hours of tomorrow morning from 1.00am BST (8.00pm EST tonight, 5.00pm PST, 10.00am Sydney).

Latest