If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

WW2 shooter Day of Infamy is free to play this weekend on Steam

Day of Infamy, one of the best WW2 shooters available today, is having a free weekend.

Starting today at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm BST, 7pm CEST, Day of Infamy will be available to download and play completely free through Steam. The promotion is to celebrate the release of a new update.

This update, like all previous and future releases, is completely free to all owners. Among the additions is a new tutorial mission in the form of a shooting range, and new map called Brittany.

Day of Infamy is designed as a multiplayer game, but all modes and maps are playable with bots. I recommend starting out in a bot match first to get a feel for the controls. The game strikes a good balance between hardcore and casual, but shooting mechanics fall firmly in the first half.

It's based on a heavily modified version of Valve's Source Engine, but it looks much better than you expect a Source game to. As a bonus, it runs good on practically any specs.

During the free weekend, everyone will earn double XP points. XP is used to unlock cosmetic items such as outfits, and has no bearing on the available weapons or equipment.

It all wraps up on Monday, October 16 at the same times above. Give it a go, especially if you liked Insurgency.

About the Author

Sherif Saed avatar

Sherif Saed

Staff Writer

Whether it's news, reviews, or interviews - Sherif is always eager to tell you about video games. He plays shooters more than a sane person should, and occasionally has the skills to show for it.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information

Comments

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch