Rainbow Six Siege Burnt Horizon Y4S1 patch goes live today, is a massive download

By Sherif Saed, Wednesday, 6 March 2019 10:03 GMT

Ubisoft has outlined the final change log, and download sizes for the Rainbow Six Siege Burnt Horizon update.

The Y4S1 update for Rainbow Six Siege, which mainly brings two new operators, and a new map to the game, will also launch with a hefty dose of balance changes for existing operators.

This is standard for Siege patches, and Ubisoft revealed the initial set of changes when the update first hit test servers. Since then, more changes have been made, which the developer outlined in a new blog post.

Rainbow Six Siege Y4S1 Burnt Horizon release times

For starters, the update will go live today on all platforms following one hour of maintenance that kicks off at the times below:

  • PC: 6am PT, 9am ET, 2pm UK
  • PS4: 7am PT, 10am ET, 3pm UK
  • Xbox One: 8am PT, 11am ET, 4pm UK

Rainbow Six Siege Y4S1 Burnt Horizon download size

All players will be required to essentially re-download the entire game, making for a much larger patch than usual. Ubisoft said this is necessary to rearrange the file structure, which will result in a smaller install size overall after taking the patch.

On PC, you’re looking at a 54GB download, compared to 33GB on PS4, and 38GB on Xbox One. When that’s done, Rainbow Six Siege will take up 60GB of space on PC instead of 79GB. On PS4, that’s 65GB down to 40GB, and 75GB to 41GB on Xbox One.

Now, onto the new changes. First, the developer’s fix for lean spam is getting another tweak. The position of the camera (in first-person) has shifted to the centre of the model’s head instead of the side. This should prevent cases where the shooter is able to see and fire at their enemy without being completely exposed.

The ranked playlist now only accepts players above level 30, instead of 20. The reset mechanic is being nerfed, too. Now, a DBNO state will leave the player in question at just 20 HP instead of 50. This also applies to Terrorist Hunt, bringing it down to 15. And, now that holosights can have different colours, their base colour will change depending on the weapon skin.

As for balancing, Ubisoft is revering the proposed change to Capitao. The operator should now perform as he does today, while the developer evaluates the feedback received regarding his rework. Dokkaebi’s auto hangup timer of her calls is being cut down to 12 seconds instead of 18.

There are several other fixes included, which you can preview on the official blog.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments