Yakuza team’s Judgement gets June release date

By Sherif Saed
6 March 2019 11:22 GMT

Judgement, the new game from the Yakuza team (Ryu ga Gotoku) at Sega, has an official release date in the West.

Judgement was first revealed at TGS last year as Project Judge, or Judge Eyes in Japan. The game was later confirmed for release in Western territories as Judgement.

Today, Sega confirmed in a tweet a June 25 worldwide release date on PS4. Interestingly, players who pre-order the game digitally will gain access on June 21, four days ahead of the official release. Pre-orders will be available tomorrow beginning 6am PT, 9am ET, 2pm UK.

Unlike Yakuza, Judgement is fully localised in English, though you’ll be able to switch between localised VO, and the Japanese original freely.

Judgement tells the story of Takayuki Yagami, a defence-attorney-turned-private-detective who must navigate the criminal underworld in search for clues as he hunts down a serial killer. The game takes place in the fictional district of Kamurocho, originally created for Yakuza.

When you’re not investigating a case or analysing evidence, you’ll be beating up plenty of criminals. Judgement borrows from Yakuza, featuring two distinct combat styles, and powerful EX moves.

If you’re curious about Judgement, watch the video below for Alex’s impressions, or give his write-up a read at the link.

Watch on YouTube

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch