Destiny 2 daily reset time is changing when Curse of Osiris releases next month

By Brenna Hillier, Friday, 10 November 2017 02:53 GMT

Destiny 2 is making a change to reset times. Now, don’t panic. We can get through this – together.

Destiny 2 currently resets at 0900 UTC – very early morning for US players, mid-morning for UK and European Guardians, and early evening for those in and around Australia, New Zealand and East Asia.

That’s going to change when Destiny 2’s first expansion Curse of Osiris releases in December: Bungie is shifting the daily reset to 5:00pm UTC. Here’s how that looks in a couple of time zones:

  • 9:00am PST
  • noon ET
  • 5:00pm UK
  • 6:00pm CET
  • 4:00am Sydney
  • 6:00am New Zealand

Those times will shift a little as daylight savings goes in and out of play. Bungie provided a handy time converter link so you can plug in your local timezone if necessary, to find out when the new Destiny 2 daily reset occurs.

The change is to avoid an issue Bungie noticed with the original Destiny, where daily resets “would not always coincide with content releases” and “would prevent impacted players from earning new rewards”. I’m guessing that means if new DLC drops an hour before reset in your territory, it’s bloody hard to earn that first day of goodies before it ticks over. I’m not sure how moving the reset time so someone else gets stuck with the problem helps, but okay? Perhaps there’s more to it.

Anyway, the change will also allow Bungie to “align the Milestone resets with event availability, such as Trials of the Nine or Iron Banner, to provide a uniform experience for players to follow each week” in Destiny 2. Nice.

Destiny 2: Curse of Osiris ups the Power cap, opens the Lighthouse, adds a new Raid and more. Players are heck excited about the new loot and lore alike in Curse of Osiris, and we’re all eager to learn more in Bungie’s Curse of Osiris livestreams throughout November.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments