Destiny 2 raid release time and power level

By Sherif Saed, Wednesday, 13 September 2017 11:08 GMT

You’ll need to be at least 260 Power in Destiny 2 if you want to play the raid today.

This detail was confirmed by Destiny 2 game director Luke Smith, after a number of fans asked about the Power requirement for the raid.

The good news is our Destiny 2 guide includes complete advice for levelling up and getting more Power fast – although perhaps the page on combining class abilities to maximise DPS in Destiny 2 is more to the point.

The Destiny 2 raid launches Wednesday, September 13 at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm BST, 7pm CEST.

Raids are typically the most challenging activities in Destiny, so everyone rightly assumed they would require a Power level higher than anything else in the game, including the Nightfall. This is also correct in the case of Destiny 2’s first raid, as Smith revealed.

That said, it’s surprising that he mentioned the range rather than just the minimum. Destiny 1 players always knew that the minimum requirement advertised only really covered the first couple of encounters, which meant you had to be higher to actually finish it. This made navigating LFG sites with a character that only meets the minimum a nightmare.

At least you’ll now know not to even bother if your Power is below 280.

You’ll need a pre-formed team of six to challenge the Leviathan raid, but if you’re happy to wait, you’ll be able to join up as a solo using Guided Games, which is currently in beta for Nightfall only.

Don’t worry though – we’ll bring you livestreams of the first attempts so you can join in on the fun.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments

Headlines

Blockbuster

Bungie

Destiny