PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds: take a look at the new costumes from the Gamescom Invitational loot crates

By Brenna Hillier, Friday, 4 August 2017 01:53 GMT

PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds contenders can now grab all the new cosmetics released in honour of the upcoming Gamescom Invitational, and in fact, we already have.

Arekkz has opened enough PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds Gamescom Invitational crates to pick up all the new costumes, and put together a video showing them off.

As you probably already know, there are two crates you can buy with the currency you earn by playing PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds normally – Survivor and Wanderer.

The Gamescom Invitational crates need purchased keys to unlock if you want the goodies inside. This sort of thing – event specific crates you need to purchase keys for – will play an important role in the economy of PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds after it releases in full. The keys cost $2.50 or regional equivalent.

We’ve already seen these costumes in promotional images, but it’s nice to see them in game and get an idea of they’ll actually look in the wild rather than in the ideal capture circumstances devs use.

In the first LAN Invitational for PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds will be held at gamescom 2017, and will feature the game’s top 80 players and influencers slugging it out for four days across Solo mode, Duo mode, Duo First Person Perspective mode and Squad mode. The best overall score from three games played will determine the winner.

You can tune into the competition at 4:00pm CT/5:00pm ET/10pm UK via the PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds Twitch, Facebook, YouTube, Mixer and Twitter channels.

Proceeds from the purchase of Gamescom Invitational keys will feed into tournament prize pool of $350,000 as well as charitable funds.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments