Heroes of the Storm’s servers will be reset before the conclusion of the current alpha.
Heroes of the Storm, Blizzard’s take on the MOBA formula, is currently in closed testing as part of a technical alpha.
This part of development is drawing to a close, and Blizzard has announced an account wipe in advance of the final phase of the current test.
According to a Battle.net post, the Heroes of the Storm shop will go offline as of September 22, after which time all alpha Heroes will be free-to-play.
You’ll only have them for one week though – after that, the game itself will go offline “for more than a week of extended maintenance”, and all accounts will be reset.
“This is the final planned Heroes of the Storm account wipe and monetary refund. Our goal is to avoid future player and hero progression wipes after we come back online.”
“Once the Nexus is brought back online, it will be as though you’re starting fresh with a brand new account. This means that any leveling progression you’ve made, rewards you’ve unlocked, in-game Gold you’ve earned, and any purchases you’ve made with real-money or Gold prior to the wipe will be reset,” Blizzard said.
Any real money spent will be refunded, and those who spent money will receive an exclusive Wonder Billie Mount as an additional reward.
“This is the final planned Heroes of the Storm account wipe and monetary refund. Our goal is to avoid future player and hero progression wipes after we come back online, but we may still need to adjust or wipe player progression with future updates,” Blizzard added.
One other change is coming with the downtime: all users will be transferred to their home Battle.net region, meaning their technical alpha friends lists will be deleted. On the up side, you’ll have in-game access to your general Battle,net friends list, and your friends will be able to see that you’re playing Heroes of the Storm and talk to you while playing.