Black Ops 2: Treyarch goes big on levelling details & unlocks

By Dave Cook
6 September 2012 12:23 GMT

Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 has a brand new create-a-class mode that dishes out new gear at every level, but there was some confusion as to how this will exactly work. As luck would have it Treyarch’s David Vonderhaar has outlines the system in great detail. Check out the facts below.

Vonderhaar took to the Black Ops 2 forums to clear up Black Ops 2’s progression system. MP1st has kindly extracted the finer points.

Black Ops 2’s level cap is set at 55 and Vonderhaar revealed that the amount of XP this will take to reach is comparable to the original Black Ops.

Players will unlock the ‘create-a-class’ option at level four, and will be given the following items to play with:

  • 1 Assault Rifle
  • 1 SMG
  • 1 LMG
  • 1 Shotgun
  • 1 Sniper Rifle
  • 1 Perk from each of the 3 perk categories
  • 1 lethal grenade
  • 1 tactical grenade/equipment

From there the levelling unlocks go like this:

  • Level 5: Perk
  • Level 6: Equipment
  • Level 7: Scorestreak (3 free and 3 optional ones to unlock with tokens)
  • Level 8: Perk
  • Level 9: Scorestreak

Then you will start to see a pattern emerging, apart from every three levels, which is when you’ll get something extra, like a gun choice.

Vonderhaar added, “At level 10, we start to settle into a pattern. There are exceptions, but the pattern is generally like this. At every major rank change, which is every 3 levels, we give you a gun and usually “something else” as a bonus for reaching a major rank change.”

VG247 played two hours of Black Ops 2 multipalyer back in August, and we listed all of the kit featured in the build we played. Check out the list here:

Thanks MP1st.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch