Fenix Rising map pack, new experience system launches for Gears of War 3

By Stephany Nunneley
17 January 2012 14:50 GMT

Epic has released the Fenix Rising add-on for Gears of War 3, which features five new multiplayer maps “inspired by the life and experiences” the series’s hero, Marcus Fenix: Academy, Anvil, Depths, Escalation, and the Slab.

It also includes four character skins: Recruit Clayton, Thrashball Cole – Limited Edition, Savage Marauder and Savage Kantus – Limited Edition, each playable across Venus Multiplayer and Horde Mode.

A new experience system, which allows players to rank up through level 100 to unlock exclusive emblems and weapon skins, is also included in the pack.

Those who purchase the add-on and attain level 100 will have a choice to “re-up”, which will reset their experience and rank while previous progressions such as the TrueSkill rating will remain intact. Players can re-up with the add-on up to three times, earning new wing colors each time: Red, Green, and Gold. The rank number will also be colored Red, Green, or Blue.

Each re-up level also awards the player a custom weapon skin, which cannot be attained by any other means.

Fenix Rising is available for 800 MSP and is playable across Versus Multiplayer, Horde and Beast modes. It is also available through the Gears of War 3 Season Pass for 2400 Microsoft Points, which includes the first four game add-ons for a 33% discount.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch