Age of Empires 4 gameplay showcase coming April 10

By Sherif Saed
17 March 2021 14:36 GMT

We’re finally going to see actual gameplay of the mysterious Age of Empires 4.

Microsoft has announced a new kind of live event today, one dedicated to Age of Empires. Dubbed Age of Empires: Fan Preview, the digital event will bring us a first proper look at Age of Empires 4 gameplay.

Watch on YouTube

The 30-minute Fan Preview will air on Saturday, April 10 at 9am PT, 12pm ET, 4pm GMT. The show will bring us a first look at the campaigns and civilizations in Age of Empires 4, though you should also expect some news for the Definitive Editions of Age of Empires 2, and Age of Empires 3.

But that’s not all, in the week following the event, the official Age of Empires website will also host “a limited-time digital experience,” though Microsoft didn’t say whether that includes a playable demo/beta.

You’ll be able to follow along on Xbox’s various official channels, including YouTube, Twitch, Facebook and the Age of Empires website itself.

Age of Empires 4 was announced in the summer of 2017. In the nearly four years since, the game has skipped a number of industry shows, and developer Relic never actually showed gameplay, save for this very brief trailer in 2019.

Hopefully, the show will also bring us a release date.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch