Nvidia to host GeForce event on September 1 as RTX 3000 series rumours intensify

By Sherif Saed, Wednesday, 12 August 2020 14:09 GMT

Nvidia is almost ready to talk about its next line-up of consumer GPUs.

After much speculation, Nvidia has officially confirmed that it’s hosting an online event next month. The show is pre-recorded, and will be streamed live at 9am PT, 12pm ET, 5pm UK on Saturday, September 1.

It will, as always, be presented by CEO Jensen Huang, and can be watched on Nvidia’s official site.

Although the company didn’t specifically spell it out, it is widely believed that this is where the RTX 3000 series of graphics cards will be officially revealed. August 31 marks the 21st anniversary of the introduction of the GeForce 256 (the first modern GPU), and Nvidia’s official description of the event certainly indicates it will bring us the future of graphics technology.

“Before we enter the future, join us to celebrate the biggest breakthroughs in PC gaming since 1999. And what comes next,” it reads.

The new generation of GPUs is based on Nvidia’s Ampere architecture, and we expect big performance boosts across both rasterised (traditional) as well as ray traced rendering.

Rumours over the past week have suggested that the first of these cards, likely the RTX 3080 and 3080 Ti, will be released in September, followed by the less powerful models 3070 and 3060 over the following couple of months.

Nvidia followed a similar schedule when it unveiled the RTX 2000 series two years ago, though we do hope high-end prices won’t be jacked up again.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments