Gears 5 versus multiplayer technical test kicks off July 19

By Stephany Nunneley, Friday, 5 July 2019 17:56 GMT

Microsoft will host two versus multiplayer technical tests sessions for Gears 5 later this month.

As promised at E3 2019, a technical test for Gears 5 multiplayer will take place, and there are two sessions available.

Included in the test is Escalation along with Arcade and King of the Hill. You can also expect Bootcamp, which works a tutorial on the mechanics and a way to familiarize yourself with the game.

The test also features a short “Tour of Duty,” which is a series of challenges for players to earn content. When you complete all of the challenges, an exclusive Tech Test Banner will be unlocked.

You can also unlock three Versus Weapon Skins by completing some additional challenges. A closer look at Escalation will be shown during the ELEAGUE Invitational next weekend, and more on Arcade will be provided next week.

Included with your Xbox Game Pass membership or as part of your Gears 5 pre-order, the Tech Test will be available to download starting July 17. Online play will kick off July 19 at 10 am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm UK and run through July 21.

The test will become active again on July 26 at the same time, and run through July 29.

You can participate in the test on Xbox One or Windows 10 PC. If you’re an Xbox Game Pass member, you will see the Tech Test available to download in your library. Online multiplayer will require Xbox Live Gold on console.

For players on Windows 10 PC, the chart below outlines minimum and recommended specs.

Gears 5 releases September 10.

 

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

12-20
SEPTEMBER
2020
THE WORLD'S
LARGEST DIGITAL
GAMES EVENT
New games | Panels | Let's Plays | Industry Insight | Esports tournaments | Livestreams | Tabletop gaming | Exclusive merch | More!

Comments