Black Ops 4 Blackout closed beta gameplay showcases Call of Duty’s battle royale mode

By Shabana Arif, Tuesday, 11 September 2018 11:06 GMT

Call of Duty’s battle royale beta is live and you can check out gameplay of the new Blackout mode right here.

Call of Duty: Black Ops 4’s Blackout beta is live this week on PlayStation 4, but Xbox One and PC players won’t be able to dive in until this weekend. For those of you lamenting your inability to partake, you can take check out some gameplay instead, which should tide you over until the beta hits your platform of choice.

GameSpot tackled the new mode this week and came away victorious. You can check out their gameplay in the video below.

Blackout is Call of Duty’s answer to the burgeoning battle royale genre, and players who have pre-ordered can get some hands-on time with the mode in the closed beta this week.

The Blackout beta only features one map, which is Call of Duty’s biggest map ever, and will include locations modelled after fan favourite maps like Nuketown and Turbine.

There will be a handful of characters to choose from, although any differences are purely cosmetic in this mode.

The beta will support 80 players and you can fly solo, buddy up with a friend in duos, or squad up with three other players for a quad.

PS4 players can join the fray right now, while PC and Xbox One players can hop in on Friday at 10AM PT/ 1PM ET/ 6PM BST. The PC open beta kicks off on Saturday, September 15 at 10AM PT/ 1PM ET/ 6PM BST on Battle.net.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments