This year’s Overwatch World Cup seed system isn’t that complicated, it just involves a lot of charts

By Brenna Hillier
11 July 2017 01:39 GMT

Overwatch World Cup 2017: how does that even work? Apparently enough of you have asked that Blizzard has produced a video explaining it in full.

The 2017 Overwatch World Cup will see 32 countries fielding teams. Players and fans from within each country will vote to help determine which six competitors make the final cut.

The 32 teams are then seeded via snake draft based on their country’s initial rank, which as you’ll see in the video below means they’re laid out in an S pattern, then divided into eight groups of four. That ensures we won’t have the best Overwatch teams knock half of themselves out in the first stage and storm home with no further challenges.

The four teams in each group will play a full round robin with each other, eliminating two teams. That leaves us with 16 teams for the second stage of the Overwatch World Cup 2017, ranked based on their overall scores from the first stage, for a single-elimination play-off.

So then we’ll have eight teams left to compete in the Overwatch World Cup at BlizzCon 2017. The World Championship itself is really simple; the first team to win three matches is declared the winner.

Watch on YouTube

BlizzCon 2017 takes place in November in Anaheim, California and is completely sold out, obviously. As well as offering virtual tickets Blizzard usually livestreams portions of the event for free, so fingers crossed the Overwatch World Cup 2017 will be among them.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 merch