PlayStation TGS press conference: Nioh release date, Kingdom Hearts delayed, and more

By Jamie Dalzell, Tuesday, 13 September 2016 07:57 GMT

Livestream set to showcase the latest and greatest in PlayStation’s Japanese offerings.

PlayStation are kicking off the pre-TGS festivities with its annual Playstation Press Conference in Japan livestream, where Sony Interactive Entertainment Japan are set to showcase a host of new titles and announcements for their region.

It’s important to note that the PlayStation Press Conference in Japan event is usually aimed squarely at the Japanese market, so there’s no guarantee that all or most of the titles shown will make their way west. Still, the event offers an interesting glimpse into what’s happening in PlayStation’s home market, and just how many niche JRPGs fans will be petitioning them to translate next.

You can catch the Japanese livestream here, or an English version at the top of this post.

The event kicks off on September 13th at 8.00am BST / 9.00AM CET / 16.00 JST / 5.00PM AEST.

The show began by reminding everyone about the new system software update rolling out today that will make PS4 consoles HDR ready, before announcing a Japanese exclusive Persona 5 console bundle for September 15 and the PS4 slim Lunar Edition for Final Fantasy 15, available on November 29.

Moving on, it looks like Kingdom Hearts has been delayed to January 12, 2017 in Japan.

We also got a look at more of Danganronpa V3, announced last year.

Koei Tecmo took to the stage to finally announce a release date for Nioh, which has been confirmed for a Feb 9, 2017 release. Nier: Automata joins the 2017 line up with a release date of February 23.

They also announced their new title Musou Stars, a beat-em up featuring characters from across various game series like Ninja Gaiden and Dead or Alive.

Kojima popped up to talk about Death Stranding, explaining the stranding theme in both nature and psychology. In the new title, the story, game and world view all connected by strands. He reiterated that the game falls into the action genre and is set in an open-world.

Kojima confirmed that the studio has found an office and a game engine so production will be moving forward. He teased further announcements from the studio on September 18.

And that’s about all, folks. We’ll keep you up to date with any more juicy nuggets we hear about from TGS 2016.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.