Dropkick Murphys to open Call of Duty XP event with performance

By Stephany Nunneley, Thursday, 25 August 2011 14:37 GMT

Activision has sent word that Dropkick Murphys will be provide the opening night performance at the Call of Duty XP event next weekend.

The two-day Call of Duty fan event features the global premiere of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 multiplayer, a $1 Million Tournament presented by Xbox 360 and takes place September 2-3 in Los Angeles.

“With an unbeatable lineup of real-world and in-game experiences, Call of Duty XP was already poised to be an historic event for fans of the franchise,” said publishing CEO Eric Hirshberg. “The addition of Dropkick Murphys just makes XP that much more memorable. Few bands fit the bill better—we’re thrilled to have them performing on opening day.”

It was announced earlier in the week that Kanye West would be closing out the event with a live performance.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Comments

Headlines

Call Of Duty

Call Of Duty XP

Call Of Duty XP Event

  • GAMEfest tickets selling out, Saturday fully booked

    Tickets for the specialist retailer’s gaming show at the NEC in Birmingham are selling out, with Saturday the first of the three-day event to reach capacity status. Dilly-dally no more if you’re planning on going.

  • Bullet Time: Sold-out Call of Duty XP event detail blowout

    The first live Call of Duty XP event takes place in LA today and tomorrow. The action kicks off at 11AM PDT/7PM BST/4AM AEST, and we’ve put together a round-up of what you can expect to see over the two-day event.