Writer’s Guild of America VG Award nominees include AC: Brotherhood, God of War 3, New Vegas

Thursday, 6th January 2011 20:12 GMT By Stephany Nunneley


The Writers Guild of America has nominated Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood, God of War 3, and Fallout: New Vegas among others for its annual Video Game Writing Award, which is to be handed out on February 5.

According to the Guild, the award is to “promote storytelling excellence in video games, improve the status of gaming writers, and encourage uniform standards within the gaming industry”, while extending Guild contract benefits to the writers, reports Gamasutra.

Nominees considered worked on games released between December 1, 2009 and November 30, 2010 and only those who are members of the WGA or who have applied to be one were considered.

Here is the list of those being considered for the award:

  • Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood, Story by Patrice Desilets, Jeffrey Yohalem, Corey May; Lead Script Writer: Jeffrey Yohalem; Script Writers: Ethan Petty, Nicholas Grimwood, Matt Turner; Ubisoft
  • Fallout: New Vegas, Creative Design Lead/Lead Writer: John Gonzalez; Writers: Chris Avellone, Eric Fenstermaker, Travis Stout; Additional Writing: Tess Treadwell, George Ziets, Jason Bergman, Nick Breckon, Matt Grandstaff, Will Noble, Andrew Scharf; Bethesda Softworks
  • God of War III, Written by Marianne Krawcyzk; Additional Writing by Stig Asmussen, Ariel Lawrence, William Weissbaum; Sony Computer Entertainment
  • Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands, Writer: Benjamin McCaw; Story Dialogue Editor: Marianne Krawczyk; Ubisoft
  • Singularity, Written by Marc Guggenheim, Lindsey Allen, Emily Silver; Additional Story and Writing: Jason Henderson, Adam Foshko, Michael Cassutt; Story and Script Consultant: Adam Foshko; Activision
  • Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II, Executive Producer-Writer: Haden Blackman; In-Game Script: David Collins, John Stafford, Cameron Suey; Additional Writing: Tid Cooney, Ian Dominguez, Tony Rowe; LucasArts

The 2011 Writers Guild Awards will be held simultaneously  in New York and Los Angeles on February 5.

Last year, Amy Hennig won for Uncharted 2: Among Thieves.

The full press release can be found here.



  1. AHA-Lambda

    force unleashed 2?
    god of war 3?
    forgotten sands?

    all for best writing? Are you having a total laugh?

    #1 4 years ago
  2. Michael O’Connor

    @1 It’s shit, overpaid writers voting on shit storylines. Does that really surprise you?

    #2 4 years ago
  3. Freek

    Wow, how can these people seriously call themselfs proffesionals and then vote in such clear garbage?
    AC:B and Fallout, maybe, there’s some decent writing in there. But not the best in the industrie and the rest of that list is utter nonsense.

    But it probably all has to do with being a member of the guild before you can be nominated. Wich makes the whole thing a sham.

    #3 4 years ago
  4. Erthazus

    The one who deserve a win is ONLY Fallout: New Vegas. O N L Y .

    #4 4 years ago
  5. The_Red

    The Force ARE YOU FUCKING WITH ME Unleashed 2!?

    Clueless doesn’t even begin to describe this situation. It’s more like a “group of clueless WGA members covering their eyes, being trapped in an endless maze on Mars and trying to reach the center of the earth” kind of a clueless.

    #5 4 years ago
  6. psybass

    Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II??? WTF!! this game having a story? i loled so much.

    #6 4 years ago
  7. Hunam

    I’ve not played Brotherhood, but the rest of them don’t have particularly strong writing. I guess that’s probably the only lot that could be actually bothered to sign up to the WGA, most studio don’t bother with the unions because of how hateful they are.

    #7 4 years ago
  8. osric90

    I can’t believe I’m reading those nominees. This actually decreases this “award’s” prestige… Are all of those games American? I mean, that’s the only reason I can find for them to be nominated and not others (there are plenty of European and Japanese games that should have been there, but NOW I think it’s an award for American games).

    #8 4 years ago
  9. freedoms_stain

    @8, Well it’s a Writers Guild of America award for Writers Guild of America members, so I reckon being American our based in America is probably one of the major criteria, yeah.

    #9 4 years ago
  10. GwynbleiddiuM

    I believe somewhere along the way someone forgot to put “On Crack” and/or “Stoned” in the title. FIFA 11′s script was much better written than titles like SWFU2, NV and Prince games. FFS PoP, really, really, REALLY?!

    And no Dragon Age? Mass Effect?! Really?! forgot that BioWare is a canadian based studio maybe that’s why, so I wont go over MGS which its developer is based in an entire different continent…

    #10 4 years ago
  11. Hunam


    Assassin’s Creed was canadian too, so you’re theory is out the window there. As I said, most developers aren’t a part of the guild, because the guilds are full of terrible people.

    #11 4 years ago

Comments are now closed on this article.