If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

Realistic shooter Squad, from the creators of Battlefield 2's Project Reality mod, is free to play on Steam this weekend

Give Squad's realistic take on the Battlefield formula a go this weekend on Steam.

Squad, the tactical shooter by the team whose members include many of the original developers of Battlefield 2's Project Reality mod, is free to play this weekend on Steam. Currently in Early Access, Squad offers 50v50 online matches and has received several content updates already.

Maps in Squad are huge, based on real-world locations. It features positional VOIP and team features that Battlefield players will be familiar with.

Squad is similar to Insurgency in that both have very realistic gun mechanics. Squad is even more expansive than Insurgency, however, as it specialises in combined-arms combat. Think of it as a modern version of Project Reality, or a hardcore Battlefield game with less budget.

The game is a relatively small download at just below 10GB, anyone can download and play until 1pm PT, 4pm ET, 8pm GMT, 9pm BST on Sunday, April 9. Squad is also on sale for 50% off, bringing the price down to $20/£15/€18.49.

About the Author

Sherif Saed avatar

Sherif Saed

Staff Writer

Whether it's news, reviews, or interviews - Sherif is always eager to tell you about video games. He plays shooters more than a sane person should, and occasionally has the skills to show for it.

Support VG247

You give us money, we give you an ad-free reading experience, merch discounts, a newsletter every month, and elite status amongst your friends.

See more information

More News

Latest Articles

VG247 logo

Buy our t-shirts, yeah

They're far more stylish than your average video game website tat.

VG247 Merch